PAINTER8
EN | FR

 


 

 



Tous droits reservés © PAINTER8 Arts Society

Webdesign par Improvdesign

 

Fight or flight exposition

FIGHT OR FLIGHT— EXPOSITION DE PAINTER8, juillet 2021




Fight or Flight (« Se battre ou se sauver »)  : l’un des instincts humains les plus primitifs. Depuis les premiers néandertaliens dont l’instinct a donné naissance à la préméditation, jusqu’aux formes contemporaines de vie humaine où une personne se retrouve face à un agresseur, ou simplement lorsque quelqu’un passe devant vous dans la file d’attente à l’épicerie.

Alors qu’on s’apprête à passer à l’action, le corps produit des hormones, les taux d’adrénaline et de noradrénaline dans le sang entraînent une accélération du rythme cardiaque et de la respiration, ainsi qu’une hausse de la tension artérielle. En fin de compte, la réaction est la conséquence d’une menace perçue, réelle ou imaginée et cette réaction ne se limite pas à des menaces physiques. Les menaces peuvent être intellectuelles, émotionnelles, chacune avec ses propres caractéristiques.

Ce thème est exploré par les artistes suivants : Craig Talbot (Cardston), Tim Rechner (Edmonton), Tom Cummins (Vancouver), Beth Pederson (Edmonton), Adrian Williams (Berlin), Rafael Sottolichio (Montréal), and Aaron Sidorenko (Calgary).

Chrissy Cheung est le commissionaire pour cet exposition.

 

 

Text traduit par Yves Charuest

PAINTER8 arts society
EN | FR

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

all images © PAINTER8 Arts Society
and their respective artists
 
Webdesign by Improvdesign

 

UPCOMING PROJECT:

FIGHT OR FLIGHT

Fight or Flight

 

FIGHT OR FLIGHT
ART EXHIBITION BY PAINTER8

The air is cold tonight. It is very late at night and you are walking home alone. From behind you hear a noise. You look behind you. Nothing. You hear another sound, nothing again. Your heart begins to race, your breath quickens, and adrenaline and other hormones enter the blood stream.

Fight or Flight: one of the most basic of human instincts. From the first Neanderthals of which developed premeditation as a result of this instinct, to contemporary human life when a person faces a mugger in the extreme or something as simple as someone cutting in line in front of you at the grocery store.

Preparing oneself to take action, the body releases hormones, adrenaline and noradrenaline resulting in an increase in heart rate, blood pressure, and breathing rate. Ultimately the fight or flight response is the result of a perceived threat, real or imagined this response is not limited to a physical threat. Threats can be intellectual or emotional as well, each type with it’s own unique properties.

This expression will be explored by these artists: Craig Talbot (Cardston), Tim Rechner (Edmonton), Chrissy Cheung (Vancouver), Tom Cummins (Vancouver), Beth Pederson (Edmonton), Adrian Williams (Berlin), Rafael Sottolichio (Montreal). Guest artist TBA .

 

 


 

CURRENT EXHIBITION:

INVISIBLE (2019) @ Galerie Cité @ La Cité Francophone, Edmonton